Print this page

Churches and Shrines in Cebu

Cebu has been part of a very rich history of religious struggle of the country specially in the times of the Spaniards leading to the strong religious cultures and traditions that has become part of a typical Cebuano's life. Now as a result of our religious growth, Cebu has churches in every city and municipality, in fact some cities and municipalities with large populations has 2 or more different churches of various religious sects.

Aside from the Major churches, most barangays have their own chapels where they hold occasional religious activities. These chapels are most active during religious festivals and especially during the barangay's annual fiesta.

Catholic churches and chapels are commonly named after a Patron Saint or a religious figure. Churches are headed and managed by a Parish Priest who is usually accompanied by an Assistant Parish Priest. All chapels are considered part of the Parish where the barangay belongs so they are still part of the Parish Priest's responsibility.

Cebu became an Archdiocese in April 28, 1934. Currently under the guidance of the Archbishop Most Reverend Jose Serofia Palma, D.D. and Auxiliary Biships Most Rev. Julito B. Cortes, D.D., and Most Rev. Emilio L. Bataclan, D.D. All Catholic Churches belong to the Archdiocese of Cebu which is divided into 7 Districts, each under the guidance of the District Bishop and its Episcopal Vicar.